Where Did You Sleep Last Night? - The Two Timin' Three
Vinylux Records V0010

Vinylux introduces a new addition to the label, The Two Timin' Three, a young rockabilly trio from Boston, USA. This young trio brings a fresh approach, clever songwriting and dynamic musicianship to the genre. Captured live to 1-track analog in glorious monophonic sound in the Vinylux studio, the resulting recordings are hot and sometimes downright menacing. The band has so much energy in their music, your feet will move on their own. Their style is kind of a little difficult to describe 'cause they mix wild rockabilly with blues, western swing, and even some jazz. But it's pretty good, no doubt about that.

The Two Timin' Three have shared the stage with celebrities like Rosie Flores, The Racketeers, Sean Mencher (High Noon) and Sleepy LaBeef. As a matter of fact, Shane Kiel is also the bass player in "Sean Mencher's Combo" and Jeff Herring plays the guitar with "The Old Howards", a band whose vocalist is no other than the lovely Dana Stewart from "The Racketeers". They perform mainly around the Boston area, although this year they were booked for the "Viva Las Vegas" weekender in Nevada.

Just about all songs are orginals written by Eric Laufer and Shane Kiel, except for "It's All Your fault", which was originally done by Wade Ray (written by Cindy Walker), and Sean Mencher's "Your New Flame". This song was previously issued on the High Noon Album "Glory Bound" as wel as on 7" vinyl (Eccofonic) and the compilation album "Travis Country Pickin'".

Hittin' off with "Black and White Baby" the mood is set for some red hot rockabilly with excellent vocals, superb guitar pickin' and a ranting slap bass, which gets even better on the second track "No Thru". Actually, simplicity is what makes this music so great and easy to listen to, the rhythm is set mostly by Shane's steady bass slapping. Other real good boppers are "Lonely, Lonely, Lonely" and "No Good Man", but also the somewhat slower rockabilly songs are a feast for your ears, because of Jeff Herring's melodic guitar licks. All in all, a very refreshing approach to the style of music that we like best. Enjoy!

Black and White Baby / No Thru / I'll Be True / Love Sick Lullaby / Lonely, Lonely, Lonely / Your New Flame / Since I Found Love / Where Did You Sleep Last Night? / It's All your Fault / Marie / Got You Figured Out / Just One Wink / Through Foolin' Around / One Red Rose / No Good Man

The Two Timin' Three are:
Eric Laufer - Lead Vocals & Acoustic Guitar
Jeff Herring - Electric Guitar & Vocals
Shane Kiel - Bass & Vocals

Information and bookings:
Shane Kiel

Vinylux Records, Inc.
P.O. Box 442184
Fort Washington, MD
20749, USA


Reviewed by Boppinjack, 2005