Rockabilly Town, The Sun Skippers
Sunskippers SKIPCD03


Early in 1993 Rockabilly guitarist Steve Blaser, formed with two other musicians, The Sun Skippers as a drumless Rockabilly Trio. The main design was to perfom early Elvis, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Roy Orbison songs; in the same style and spirit of Sun Records. A restructure of the band let to drummer Paul Leuzinger joining the group in 1996, and Phil Traussnig, on double bass, in 2009 - giving the band a defined new rhythm, and crowning the "Red Hot Sun Rockabilly" concept.

2006 sees the band start recordings for a new CD; but due to changes in the bands‘ line-up the project is put to one side. And now, by interchanging the last two digits of the last album’s release year 2001 and you have 2010, the inauguration year of our long awaited new CD Rockabilly Town, consisting of 6 own original compositions and 10 specially selected cover versions. This CD is to celebrate the 60th birthday of the Memphis Recording Services. It is also our personal musical tribute to Sun Records, Memphis, to the rolling trains and the Southern States.

Recommended Tracks:
1. Rockabilly Town
3. Sunrise
7. Hot Rod Chevy

The Sun Skippers:
Steve Blaser : Vocals / Guitar
Phil Traussnig : Upright Bass
Paul Leuzinger : Drums

2010: Rockabilly Town (Skipcd03)
2001: Boppin' Country Billy (Skipcd02)
1998: The Long Black Veil (Skipcd01)
2004: Cmfs Country Sampler Switzerland (Es73672)
2004: Swiss Rockabilly, Hillbilly & Rock'N'Roll Sampler (Es73657)
2003: Banzai!-Magazin Sampler No.11

The Sun Skippers
Weiherwald 1
CH-9213 Hauptwil
Phone: +41(0)71 422 50 38
Mobile +41(0)79 605 43 73 


Information provided by Steve Blaser, 2010