Silhouet Rock, Shaking Silhouets
Rarity Records, CD 192633

Rarity Records is surely on the move. With dozens of great rock 'n' roll and rockabilly (re)issues, the label is probably the most productive company on the Dutch scene these days. This is another great Rarity release, the re-issue of the original Silhouet Rock album (Rockhouse LPL9122) from 1991 by the Dutch Teddy Boy Rock 'n' Roll band "The Shaking Silhouets". It not only contains the original 16 LP tracks, but also a lot of fabulous unissued stuff, an alternative version of the title song and many songs that were only available on compilation albums before this release. A total of 30 tracks and over 75 minutes of some of the best Dutch rockabilly and Teddy Boy Rock 'n' Roll from the early 90s.

The CD comes with extensive liner notes, a 16 page booklet with the complete history and discography of the band written by Frank Nelissen of Rebel Rock R&R Promotions. It's a great story, and it's printed in Dutch as well as in English. That's a good thing, because this release, as many other Rarity releases, surely deserves international attention.

The first 16 tracks of the album are the original songs as released on the Rockhouse album with the same title (tracklisting below). Track 17 "Cat Talking" (Flying Saucers) was recorded for the same album, but it was not included and it has never been released afterwards. "Wild One" is a Silhouets original, written by Piet Peulen. This is a different (previously unreleased) version of the song that was issued on the EP "Ridgemount Rockers Vol. 2" in 1990. "Wipe Out" (Surfaris) and "Gunning For The Dog" (Matchbox) were both recorded in 1991, but only the latter was released on the Pollytone "Teddy Boy Rock 'n' Roll" compilation. "Red Headed Woman" (Sonny Burgess) was also recorded in 1991 and previously unissued.

The next 4 tracks (22/23/24/25) were recorded for Rockhouse in the fall of 1989 with Crocats' guitarist Ed Dieckman on lead. Two other recordings from the same session remain unreleased. Track 26, "Bootleg Hill", written by vocalist/saxophonist Piet Peulen, was not issued before and it was recorded in January 1989. "I Believe I'm Love Again" (Fabulous Thunderbirds) and "Promised land" (Chuck Berry) are also unreleased recordings, found on a demo-cassette from 1988.

Even further back in time, "Cast Iron Arm" (Peanuts Wilson) was taped for a radiostation in Holland in 1987. "That Night" is the only ballad on this album, and also the only song written by bass-player Jos Peulen and it was taken from the very first demo-cassette the band made in 1983. Too bad Frank, that the original live-version of "Old Green Frog", was never recorded, or did you hold that one back :))

Tracklisting (with original artist)
1. Silhouet Rock (Shaking Silhouets)
2. Doing All Right (Jerry Hanson)
3. Don't Go My Way (Shaking Silhouets)
4. Crazy Rhythm (Shaking Silhouets)
5. Hot Rod (Collins Kids)
6. Sweet Talk (Rusty York)
7. Lights Out (Jerry Byrne)
8. I'm Ready (Hank Cochran)
9. Vacation's Over (Lou Josie)
10. Slippin' In (Lou Millet)
11. I'm Ready (Fats Domino)
12. Blue Swinging Mama (Larry Dowd)
13. All The Time (Sleepy LaBeef)
14. Oakie Boogie (Hank Swatley)
15. Please Don't Touch (Johnny Kid & The Pirates)
16. Alabama Shake (Gene Summers)
17. Cat Talking (Flying Saucers)
18. Wild One (Shaking Silhouets)
19. Wipe Out (Surfaris)
20. Gunning For The Dog (Matchbox)
21. Red Headed Woman (Sonny Burgess)
22. Brand New Cadillac (Vince Taylor)
23. Tennessee Rockin' (Shotgun)
24. Silhouet Rock [2] (Shaking Silhouets)
25. Little Pig (Dale Hawkins)
26. Bootleg Hill (Shaking Silhouets)
27. I believe I'm In Love Again (Fabulous Thunderbirds)
28. Promised Land (Chuck Berry)
29. Cast Iron Arm (Peanuts Wilson)
30. That Night (Shaking Silhouets)

More Shaking Silhouets on this website:
Shaking Silhouets & Pipeline '61

Rarity Records:

Rockhouse Records:

The BlackCat, 2001

Historical information provided by:
Rebel Rock R&R Promotions
Spaaklaan 21
5252BC Vlijmen
Tel: +31-73-5118536